Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘Love Hard’

Love Hard Soundtrack - Every Song in the 2021 Netflix Christmas Movie

The Love Hard soundtrack includes music by The Beach Boys, Wolfmother and Cutting Crew. This info article contains spoilers and song details for Hernán Jiménez’s 2021 Netflix movie. Visit the Vague Visages Soundtracks of Cinema section for more music guides.

Love Hard stars Nina Dobrev as Natalie Bauer, a Los Angeles journalist. Jimmy O. Yang co-headlines as Josh Lin, a Lake Placid native who uses a fake profile picture for an online dating service. When Natalie flies to New York to surprise her love interest, Josh, she discovers the truth and agrees to carry on a fake romance for the sake of appearances. Meanwhile, Josh’s parents plan an engagement party while his brother investigates Natalie’s past. The film features several holiday-themed tracks, courtesy of music supervisor Michael Turner (Under the Silver Lake). Here’s every song in Love Hard, a romantic comedy written by Danny Mackey and Rebecca Ewing.

Read More at VV — Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘Toscana’

Love Hard Soundtrack: Every Song in the 2021 Netflix Movie

Love Hard Soundtrack - Every Song in the 2021 Netflix Christmas Movie

  • “Little Saint Nick” by The Beach Boys (00:00:00): The Love Hard soundtrack song scores the opening sequence. A montage sequence captures various Los Angeles cityscapes. Natalie narrates about Plato’s “Other Half” theory.
  • “Everyday” by Ada Pasternak (00:05:00): Natalie chats online with Josh about Love Actually, among other things. They argue about whether or not Die Hard is a Christmas movie. The cover of the Buddy Holly and the Crickets classic fades during a next-morning sequence at Elysium Park.
  • “Roll On Babe” by Vetiver (00:07:00): Natalie enjoys a bath and talks with Josh. The Love Hard soundtrack song plays during a montage sequence. Both characters discuss their childhoods.
  • “Vagabond” by Wolfmother (00:11:00): The music complements a morning scene. Natalie arrives for work at Soash Media. She exchanges intimate texts with Josh, complete with heart emojis.
  • “Keep On” by Loose Tooth (00:13:00): Natalie prepares for an “epic love story.” Kara (Heather McMahan) suggests that the upcoming trip is the most sane thing her friend has ever done. The music drops during a Lake Placid Airport scene.
  • “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year” by Tency (00:16:00): An Uber/Lyft driver named Eric (Fletcher Donovan) brings Natalie to the Lin residence. The characters acknowledge the impressive Christmas lighting. Eric, or “E-Rock,” asks Natalie to give Josh a marijuana joint.
  • “I Just Died in Your Arms Tonight” by Cutting Crew (00:19:00): Natalie prepares to meet Josh for the first time. The Love Hard soundtrack song kicks in during a slo-mo sequence. The music scratches and drops when Natalie realizes that she’s been catfished.
  • “Jingle Bell Rock” by Aijia Grammar (00:21:00): Natalie leaves Josh’s home. She decides to let “Baby Jesus take the wheel.” The song continues during a bar sequence at McGregor’s.
  • “I Would Do Anything for Love” by Nina Dobrev (00:24:00): Natalie performs a karaoke song at McGregor’s. She catches the attention of Tag (Darren Barnet), the person in Josh’s profile photo. Natalie experiences an allergic breakout while performing the Meatloaf cover, which makes her look somewhat like the character from the song’s music video.
  • “Counting the Days” by The Crystalairs (00:33:00): Josh gives Natalie a tour of Lake Placid. He also explains that Tag likes women who enjoy the outdoors. The song fades to the background during a scene at the Lin family store.
  • “Holly Jolly Christmas” by The Lubin Brothers (00:34:00): The Love Hard soundtrack song scores a sequence at the Lin family store. Bob welcomes Tag as Natalie reads a book.
  • “Macho Man” by Studio Musicians (00:40:00): Josh’s brother Owen (Harry Shum Jr.) arrives at the Lin residence with his wife, Chelsea (Mikaela Hoover). He also makes disparaging comments which aren’t well-received by Natalie.
  • “O’ Christmas Tree” by APM Music (00:42:00): Owen jokes about a Christmas ornament featuring “junior jumbo Josh.”
  • “Don’t You (Forget About Me)” by Simple Minds (00:46:00): Josh gives Natalie ear buds for her indoor rock climbing adventure. The Love Hard soundtrack song amplifies as Dobrev’s character makes her way up.
  • “Hark the Harold Angels Sing” by Harry Shum Jr., Baraka May Williams, Kelci Hahn, Rene Ruiz, Brian Brigham (00:49:00): Owen lead an outdoors group performance. It’s reminiscent of the singing by Adam Scott’s Derek Huff in the 2008 film Step Brothers.
  • “Maybe Just Go Outside” by Nina Dobrev and Jimmy O. Yang (00:51:00): Natalie and Josh perform a revised version of “Baby, It’s Cold Outside.”
  • “Blood on My Hands” by Style Beddoe (01:05:00): Barb (Rebecca Staab) talks about Natalie and Josh’s engagement announcement being in the local newspaper. The protagonists react as the Love Hard soundtrack song plays. Natalie and Josh steal newspapers while giggling.
  • “Santa Knows Your Secrets” by Nightheart (01:12:00): Owen spies on Natalie during her date with Tag. He snap a piece of licorice in his mouth as the song drops.
  • “Read My Mind” by Golda May (01:26:00): Josh leaves a surprise party after Natalie reveals the true about her motivations. At home, he discovers a note from his love interest. The Love Hard soundtrack song fades as Josh’s family members arrive.
  • “Call It Dreaming” by Iron & Wine (01:32:00): Natalie begins writing an article at the Lake Placid Lodge. She struggles with an opening statement and reaches an epiphany after a break. The music continues during a time-lapse sequence.
  • “Curls” by Bibio (01:35:00): Natalie arrives at Josh’s home. She recreates a climactic scene from Love Actually. Josh respond with a line from Natalie’s favorite Christmas movie, Die Hard.
  • “Very Merry Christmas” by Thomas Daniel (01:38:00): Grandma June (Althea Kaye) inquires about the meaning of a dick pick. The film ends with a big smile from Natalie. The song scores the end credits.

Read More at VV — Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘A Perfect Pairing’


The Love Hard soundtrack also includes:

  • “Slay Bells” by Curt Sobel & Gary Schreiner
  • “Christmas from O’Hare” by King Cardinal
  • “Dream within a Dream” by The Peter Bilt Group
  • “A Christmas Home” by Curt Sobel & Gary Schreiner
  • “Jingle Bells” by APM Music
  • “Tomorrow Coming On” by Tom Rhodes
  • “Silent Night” by APM Music
  • “Jolly Old Saint Nick” by APM Music
  • “Kiss Me Tenderly” by Timothy Hosman
  • “It Is Understood” by Curt Sobel & Gary Schreiner
  • “The Buggy Ride” by Wynton Marsalis & Ellis Marsalis
  • “We Wish You a Merry Christmas” by APM Music

Q.V. Hough (@QVHough) is Vague Visages’ founding editor.