Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘Vacation Friends’

Vacation Friends Soundtrack - Every Song in the 2021 Hulu Movie

The Vacation Friends soundtrack features music by Mexican Institute of Sound, Run the Jewels and Beastie Boys. This info article contains spoilers and song details for Clay Tarver’s 2021 Hulu movie. Take a look at more music guides in Vague Visages’ Soundtracks of Cinema section.

In Vacation Friends, Marcus (Lil Rel Howery) plans to propose to his girlfriend, Emily (Yvonne Orji), during a trip to Mexico. A twist of fate affects the plan, however, and the Chicago couple shacks up with guests from Oregon — Ron (John Cena) and Kyla (Meredith Hagner). A night of drinking results in blurry memories, which becomes an issue seven months later at Marcus and Emily’s wedding. Here’s every featured song in Vacation Friends, a 2021 film directed by Clay Tarver.

Read More at VV — Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘Orphan: First Kill’

Vacation Friends Soundtrack: Every Song in the 2021 Hulu Movie

Vacation Friends Soundtrack - Every Song in the 2021 Hulu Movie

  • “Better Now” by Mexican Institute of Sound (00:00:00): A mariachi band performs in the street as Vacation Friends begins. The camera pans to Marcus and Emily, who discuss their plans for an upcoming trip. The Vacation Friends soundtrack song, originally recorded by Post Malone, teases conflict for the focal couple.
  • “Lovely Day” by Bill Withers (00:04:00): Marcus and Emily arrive at their Mexican resort. An employee named Maurillo (Carlos Santos) opens the door to their room, which is revealed to be full of water. “Lovely Day” comedically punctuates the moment, which functions as the inciting incident.
  • “Se Baila Asi” by Mexican Institute of Sound (00:13:00): Marcus loosens up and agrees to a boat trip with Emily. Ron shows up with his wife, Kyla. The Vacation Friends soundtrack song continues as Cena’s character states “Goddam, sailing makes my dick hard. I’m almost at half-mast.”
  • “Summer Breeze” by Seals & Crofts (00:15:00): Marcus reluctantly agrees to captain the boat. He puts on shades and decides to have a drink. Moments later, Captain Marcus crashes into rocks as “Summer Breeze” plays
  • “White Lines (Don’t Do It)” by Granmaster Melle Mell (00:27:00): Marcus awkwardly jumps from a cliff. Back at the resort, the four main characters enjoy themselves and consume adult beverages. The opening lyric, “vision, dreams and passion,” teases a sexual rendezvous that plagues Marcus’ mind throughout Vacation Friends.
  • “Ooh La La” by Run the Jewels feat. Greg Nice and DJ Premiere (00:51:00): The Vacation Friends soundtrack song scores an equestrian sequence before Marcus and Emily’s wedding. Everyone rides a horse except Kyla, who eats Tostitos while driving a golf cart. Marcus tries to impress his future father-in-law, Harold (Robert Wisdom).
  • “So What’Cha Want ” by Beastie Boys (00:55:00): Marcus consumes the most potent magic mushroom on Earth. The 1992 hip-hop anthem kicks in as Howery’s character hallucinates. Marcus and Ron jump around in the woods together.
  • “Space Hos” by DANGERDOOM (01:05:00): Marcus agrees to a golf bet. He gets upset when Ron struggles. Gabe (Andrew Bachelor) and Bennet (Kamal Bolden) celebrate their shots and dance.
  • “Ooh La La (Mexican Institute of Sound Remix)” by Run the Jewels feat. Mexican Institute of Sound & Sante Fe Klan (01:37:00): In Mexico, Marcus references Ron’s “float” line from earlier in the film. The four main characters jump from a cliff. The Vacation Friends soundtrack song plays over the end credits.

Read More at VV — Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘Elvis’


The Vacation Friends soundtrack also includes:

  •  “Carnaval” by Mexican Institute of Sound
  • “Mi T-Shirt De La Nasa” by Mexican Institute of Sound
  • “Sueltate Mama” by George Balmaseda
  • “Virgencita De Las Rosas” by Mariachi La Estrella
  • “Quien Es El Patron” by Systema Solar
  • “El Rumbero” by George Balmaseda
  • “Minor” by Stimmhorn and Kold Electronics
  • “El Jefe” by Mexican Institute of Sound
  • “Triohatala” by Stimmhorn
  • “Soy Lo Prohibido” by Natalia Lafourcade feat. Los Macorinos
  • “Yemaya” by Mexican Institute of Sound
  • “Lagrimas & Tequila (Tears & Tequila)” by Megatrax
  • “Try the Truffles” by Extreme Music
  • “Who’s the Man” by APM Music
  • “One Town One People” by Alfred Thompson, Jr.
  • “Comfy Chair” by Universal Production Music
  • “Jazz N’ Blues Heritage” by APM Music
  • “Here We Go” by 5 Alarm Music
  • “Bugle Military” by Sound Ideas
  • “Circus” by Leo Birenberg
  • “All Smiles (Trio Version)” by 5 Alarm Music
  • “Menea Tu Cuerpo” by Mexican Institute of Sound feat. Press Kay
  • “Serenity” by Josh B Wood
  • “The Bebop Blues” by Richard Paul Geere
  • “Hiedra Venenosa” by Mexican Institute of Sound
  • “Unreal Is Here” by Chavez
  • “Trio” by Mexican Institute of Sound

Q.V. Hough (@QVHough) is Vague Visages’ founding editor.