Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘Spiderhead’

Spiderhead Soundtrack - Every Song in the Netflix Movie

The Spiderhead soundtrack includes music by The Swingle Sisters, Thomas Dolby and Herb Alpert. This info article contains spoilers and song details for Joseph Kosinski’s 2022 Netflix movie. Check out Vague Visages’ Soundtracks of Cinema section for more music guides.

Spiderhead stars Chris Hemsworth as Steve Abnesti, a scientist who tests drugs at an island prison. Miles Teller co-stars as Jeff, an inmate who investigates the motivations of the alleged warden. The storyline follows Steve as he plots against prisoners for the sake of self-serving goals. Composer Joseph Trapanese (Oblivion) scored the 107-minute Netflix film; music supervisor Yvette Metoyer (The Boys) selected the featured needle-drops. Here’s every song in Spiderhead, an adaptation of George Saunders’ 2010 short story “Escape from Spiderhead.”

Read More at VV — Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘Hustle’

Spiderhead Soundtrack: Every Song in the 2022 Netflix Movie

Spiderhead Soundtrack - Every Song in the Netflix Movie

  • “The Logical Song” by Supertramp (00:02:00): The Spiderhead soundtrack song plays during the opening sequence. Steve and Mark Verlaine (Mark Paguio) conduct a Laffodil test. Ray (Stephen Tongun) giggles while answering questions.
  • “Feelin Like” by Bad Coulours feat. Jarv Dee (00:06:00): Lizzy (Jurnee Smollett) wears headphones in a kitchen. She listens to music as Jeff arrives. The track plays again briefly at 00:08:00.
  • “I’ll Take You There” by The Staple Singers (00:09:00): Jeff draws with an Etch A Sketch. He thinks about a traumatic experience. Jeff hangs out with his girlfriend, Emma (BeBe Bettencourt), during a flashback sequence.
  • “Blitzkrieg” by Blitzkrieg (00:10:00): A flashback sequence continues. The Spiderhead soundtrack song plays as Jeff drives while intoxicated with two passengers. He crashes into a tree and flies through the windshield.
  • “What a Fool Believes” by The Doobie Brothers (00:10:00): The music sets in during an exterior sequence. Steve reads The New England Journal of Medicine in a transition shot. The track scores an interior montage.
  • “Solfeggietto” by The Swingle Sisters (00:14:00): Jeff participates in a test with Heather (Tess Haubrich). He says that she is “looking really, really good.” The music plays as the characters hook up.
  • “Feels So Good” by Chuck Mangione (00:17:00): Lizzy works with Jeff on snack duty. She talks about swiping lottery tickets when she lived at a group home. The Spiderhead soundtrack song continues as Lizzy tells another story to Jeff.
  • “She Blinded Me with Science” by Thomas Dolby (00:18:00): Jeff sits in a yellow chair as Sarah (Angie Milliken) arrives for a test. Steve briefly sings along to the song. The track plays again at 01:30:00.
  • “Breezin'” by George Benson (00:20:00): The music scores an exterior landscape shot. Verlaine talks with Jeff during a transition sequence. He watches him draw with an Etch A Sketch.
  • “Der Fruhling (Spring)” by The Swingle Sisters (00:32:00): Jeff sits across from Rogan (Nathan Jones). He worries about a test that could lead to a sexual encounter. The Spiderhead soundtrack song sets in again at 00:36:00.
  • “More Than This” by Roxy Music (00:37:00): Steve plays music and raises the volume. He dances alone in his bedroom. Steve lies down and takes a dose of Luvactin.
  • “Rise” by Herb Alpert (00:38:00): The track plays during an exterior landscape shot. Jeff talks with Lizzy in a transition scene. “Rise” plays again at 01:37:00 (end credits).
  • “You Make My Dreams (Come True)” by Daryl Hall & John Oates (01:31:00): Steve changes music on his phone. The Spiderhead soundtrack song kicks in as Jeff walks with Lizzy. They find out that Sarah is “Shit-Finger.”
  • “Crazy Love” by Poco (01:34:00): Jeff and Lizzy watch Steve take off in a small airplane. The music plays from a phone. Steve giggles and commits suicide by crashing into a mountain.

Read More at VV — Soundtracks of Television: ‘God’s Favorite Idiot’



The Spiderhead soundtrack also includes:

  • “Mukuti” by TBA
  • “Flume” by Fred Szymankski

Q.V. Hough (@QVHough) is Vague Visages’ founding editor.