Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘Smile’

Smile Soundtrack - Every Song in the 2022 Movie on Paramount+

The Smile soundtrack includes music by Cristobal Tapia de Veer and The Chordettes. This info article contains spoilers and song details for Parker Finn’s 2022 movie on Paramount+. Check out Vague Visages’ Soundtracks of Cinema section for more music guides.

Smile stars Sosie Bacon (13 Reasons Why, Mare of Easttown) as Rose Cotter, an American doctor who witnesses a suicide. Kyle Gallner (Scream, Dinner in America) co-stars as Joel, a detective who helps his ex-girlfriend with an investigation. The storyline follows Rose as her life spirals out of control after a series of hallucinations. Composer Cristobal Tapia de Veer (The White Lotus) scored the 115-minute film, which features just one credited track. Here’s a needle-drop breakdown for Smile, an adaptation of Parker Finn’s 2018 short film Laura Hasn’t Slept.

Read More at VV — Soundtracks of Television: ‘Tulsa King’

Smile Soundtrack: Every Song in the 2022 Movie

Smile Soundtrack - Every Song in the 2022 Movie on Paramount+

  • “Lollipop” by The Chordettes (01:50:00): Joel tracks down Rose at her childhood home. He stares as she lights a match and growls while smiling. The film ends as Joel witnesses a figure in Rose’s eye. After a sudden cut to black, The Smile soundtrack song sets in during the end credits. The track was originally recorded in February 1958 by Ronald & Ruby. The Chordettes released a cover version the same month and reached #2 on the billboard charts.

Read More at VV — Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘Orphan: First Kill’


Smile released theatrically in September 2022. The film’s supporting cast includes Jessie T. Usher (Independence Day: Resurgence, The Boys), Robin Weigert (Deadwood, Big Little Lies), Caitlin Stasey (Please Like Me, Bridge and Tunnel), Kal Penn (Harold & Kumar Go to White Castle, House), Rob Morgan (Mudbound, Don’t Look Up), Gillian Zinser (Savages, The Guilty), Judy Reyes (Scrubs, Devious Maids), Jack Sochet (The Heyday of the Insensitive Bastards, No Vacancy) and Nick Arapoglou (Freaky, The Resident).

Q.V. Hough (@QVHough) is Vague Visages’ founding editor.