Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘The Hunger Games’

The Hunger Games Soundtrack - Every Song in the 2012 Movie on Netflix

The Hunger Games soundtrack includes music by Arcade Fire, Taylor Swift and The Civil Wars. This info article contains spoilers and song details for Gary Ross’ 2012 movie on Netflix. Check out Vague Visages’ Soundtracks of Cinema section for more music guides.

The Hunger Games stars Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen, a 16-year-old girl who represents her district in an annual survival contest. Josh Hutcherson co-stars as Peeta Mellark, the protagonist’s District 12 associate who tries to overcome the odds. The storyline follows Katniss as she strategizes against the competition while developing a cultural persona. Composer James Newton Howard (King Kong) scored the 142-minute film, which features a total of 12 credited tracks. Here’s every song in The Hunger Games, an adaptation of Suzanne Collins’ 2008 novel.

Read More at VV — Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘We Have a Ghost’

The Hunger Games Soundtrack: Every Song in the 2012 Movie

The Hunger Games Soundtrack - Every Song in the 2012 Movie on Netflix

  • “Deep in the Meadow (Lullaby)” by Jennifer Lawrence and Willow Shields (00:01:00): The Hunger Games soundtrack song is featured during an exterior scene. Katniss sings to her scared sister, Primrose (Willow Shields). She sings the tune again at 01:36:00 while comforting Rue (Amandla Stenberg).
  • “War” by Hypnotic Brass Ensemble (00:49:00): A TV event begins. The announcer introduces Caesar Flickerman (Stanley Tucci). The host hypes up the 74th annual Hunger Games.
  • “Abraham’s Daughter” by Arcade Fire (02:08:00): President Coriolanus Snow (Donald Sutherland) thinks as the film ends. The track scores the end credits.
  • “Safe & Sound” by Taylor Swift feat. The Civil Wars (02:10:00): The Hunger Games soundtrack song plays during the end credits.
  • “Kingdom Come” by The Civil Wars (02:14:00): The track closes out the credits sequence.

Read More at VV — Soundtracks of Television: ‘Outer Banks’


The Hunger Games soundtrack also includes:

  • “Farewell” by Evgueni Galperine and Mariana Tootsie
  • “Horn of Plenty” by Win Butler and Régine Chassagne
  • “Sediment” by Laurie Spiegel
  • “A Wasp on Her Abdomen” by Chas Smith
  • “Three Movements for Orchestra MVT. 1” by Lower Austrian Tonkünstler Orchestra
  • “Allt Varð Hljótt” by Olafur Arnolds
  • “Marissa Flashback” by Thomas Owen Mostyn Rowlands

Q.V. Hough (@QVHough) is Vague Visages’ founding editor.