Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘Operation Mincemeat’

Operation Mincemeat Soundtrack - Every Song in the 2021 Movie

The Operation Mincemeat soundtrack includes music by Carroll Gibbons, James Morgan and Thomas Newman. This info article contains spoilers and song details for John Madden’s 2021 movie on Netflix. Check out Vague Visages’ Soundtracks of Cinema section for more music guides.

Operation Mincemeat stars Colin Firth as Ewen Montagu, a British intelligence officer who strategizes against Nazi Germany during World War II. Matthew Macfadyen co-stars as Charles Cholmondeley, the architect of a deception operation involving a corpse. The storyline follows the British officers as they plan for the Allied invasion of Sicily. Composer Thomas Newman (The Shawshank Redemption) scored the 128-minute film; music supervisor Kle Savidge (Tomb Raider) assembled the featured needle-drops. Here’s every song in Operation Mincemeat, an adaptation of Ben Macintyre’s 2010 book.

Read More at VV — Soundtracks of Television: ‘Clark’

Operation Mincemeat Soundtrack: Every Song in the 2021 Movie

Operation Mincemeat Soundtrack - Every Song in the 2021 Movie

  • “Peckin” by Roger Wilson, Martin Litton, Richard Henry, Peter Rudeforth, Gary Crosby, Denys Baptiste, Colin Skinner and Richard Pite (00:35:00): Jean Leslie (Kelly Macdonald) speaks with Ewen outside a night club. She hears the favorite tune of mutual acquaintances. The Operation Mincemeat soundtrack song continues as Jean dances with a soldier while Ewen watches.
  • “I’m Going to Get Lit Up” by Carroll Gibbons and the Savoy Hotel Orpheans (00:53:00): Jean attends an event with Ewen. Charles watches them laugh. The music plays during a transition sequence in which Ewen works away at his desk.
  • “Fallen Soldier” by James Morgan (01:57:00): Charles speaks about his brother’s funeral arrangements. Ewen states that he would like to attend the service. The Operation Mincemeat soundtrack song scores the film’s final moments, epilogue and end credits.

Read More at VV — Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘Silverton Siege’


The Operation Mincemeat soundtrack also includes:

  • “Big Cat Swing” by James Morgan and Richard Pardy
  • “Important Arrival” by Adrian Ludlow
  • “One Day Soon” by James Morgan
  • “My Heart and I Decided” by James Morgan and Richard Pardy

Q.V. Hough (@QVHough) is Vague Visages’ founding editor.