Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘Asteroid City’

Asteroid City Soundtrack - Every Song in the 2023 Movie on Peacock

The Asteroid City soundtrack includes music by Slim Whitman, Les Paul and Jarvis Cocker. This info article contains spoilers and song details for Wes Anderson’s 2023 movie on Peacock. Check out Vague Visages’ Soundtracks of Cinema section for more music guides.


Asteroid City stars Jason Schwartzman as Augie Steenbeck, a war photographer who is actually a fictional play character. Scarlett Johansson co-stars as Midge Campbell, a fictional film actress who stays at a motel. The storyline follows the main players as they investigate extraterrestrial activity with locals. Composer Alexandre Desplat (The King’s Speech) scored the 105-minute film; music supervisor Randall Poster (The Grand Budapest Hotel) selected the featured needle-drops. Here’s every song in Asteroid City.

Read More at VV — Soundtracks of Cinema: ‘Heart of Stone’

Asteroid City Soundtrack: Every Song in the 2023 Movie

Asteroid City Soundtrack - Every Song in the 2023 Movie on Peacock

  • “Last Train to San Francisco” by Johnny Duncan and The Blue Grass Boys (00:04:00): Conrad Earp (Edward Norton) describes his story’s structure. The Asteroid City soundtrack song continues during the title sequence. A train navigates a desert.
  • “Island of Dreams” by The Springfields (00:07:00): Augie enters a diner with his children. Music plays from a speaker system. Augie orders flapjacks and coffee.
  • “Ida Red” by Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys (00:13:00): June (Maya Hawke) talks to students. She announces that it’s lunchtime. Midge exits an aqua vehicle.
  • “Canon (Canon and Gigue in D Major)” by Henk Bouman, Musica Antiqua Köln, Reinhard Goebel (00:24:00): Jones (Jason Schwartzman) talks to Conrad about a script. He rehearses a scene. The Asteroid City soundtrack song plays as Jones and Conrad kiss.
  • “(I Got Spurs) Jingle Jangle Jingle” by Tex Ritter and His Texans (00:30:00): Dr. Hickenlooper chats with Woodrow (Jake Ryan) about “blips and bleeps.” The track continues during an Act 1 scene. June counts her students.
  • “Cowboy’s Lament” by Burl Ives (00:41:00): Midge rehearses a scene. Augie opens a window. Midge acts out a nude scene.
  • “Freight Train” by The Charles McDevitt Skiffle Group & Nancy Whiskey (00:45:00): Stanley talks to his grandchildren. The Asteroid City soundtrack song plays as he inquires about tupperware. The music plays again during the end credits at 01:38:00.
  • “Rose Marie” by Slim Whitman (00:52:00): Schubert (Adrien Brody) plays a record. Polly (Hong Chau) enters a room. The host (Bryan Cranston) explains how Schubert’s wife left him for a baseball player.
  • “Indian Love Call” by Slim Whitman (00:57:00): Act II begins. June exhales sharply. She talks to students about a lesson plan.
  • “Smoke Rings” by Les Paul & Mary Ford (01:00:00): Woodrow looks through a telescope. The Asteroid City soundtrack song continues as Dr. Hickenlooper talks to Dinah (Grace Edwards). The characters discuss constellations.
  • “Sixteen Tons” by Tennessee Ernie Ford (01:02:00): Augie opens a window. He talks to Midge about an alien photograph. Midge inquires about a photo of herself.
  • “Dear Alien” by Wes Anderson, Jarvis Cocker, Richard Hawley (01:18:00): The tune accompanies an exterior scene. Montana (Rupert Friend) chats with June. He performs with a group of musicians.
  • “Kaw-Liga” by Johnny Duncan and The Blue Grass Boys (01:19:00): Augie opens a window. The Asteroid City soundtrack song sets in as he shows a self-portrait to Midge. Augie clears his throat and reads lines from a script.
  • “How High the Moon” by Les Paul & Mary Ford (01:34:00): The epilogue begins. Augie opens a window. He talks to a motel manager (Steve Carell) about departed guests.
  • “The Streets of Laredo” by Bing Crosby (01:36:00): Augie and Stanley enter a diner. Music plays from the speaker system. Woodrow announces that he won a scholarship.
  • “You Can’t Wake Up If You Don’t Fall Asleep” by Jarvis Cocker (01:41:00): The track plays during the end credits.

Read More at VV — Soundtracks of Television: ‘Poker Face’


The Asteroid City soundtrack also includes:

  • “April in Portugal” by Lex Baxter
  • “No Help Wanted” by Les “Carrot Top” Anderson
  • “Orange Blossom Special” by Bill Monroe & His Blue Grass Boys
  • “Steel Guitar Rag” by Spade Cooley & His Orchestra
  • “Cowboy Jack” by Roy Rogers & The Sons of the Pioneers
  • “High Noon (Do Not Forsake Me)” by Tex Ritter
  • “The Sheik of Araby” by Merle Travis
  • “Hey, Mr. Cotton Picker” by Tennessee Ernie Ford
  • “The Cattle Call” by Eddy Arnold with Hugo Winterhalter and His Orchestra and Chorus
  • “Blue Skies” by Les Paul & His Trio
  • “(There’ll Be) Peace in the Valley (For Me)” by Red Foley, The Sunshine Boys
  • “Out of Nowhere” by Franz Waxman
  • “Cowboy Night Herd Song” by Sons of the Pioneers

Q.V. Hough (@QVHough) is Vague Visages’ founding editor.